Ho Chi Minh Museum or Uncle Ho’s Museum is located on the junction of the Saigon River, near the end of Saigon’s Nguyen Tat Thanh Street.
This museum is popularly known as the Dragon House or Nha Rong Harbor.
The architectural design of Saigon’s Ho Chi Minh Museum represents a unique mix of traditional Vietnamese and French architectural style.
For its spectacular architecture, the building of this museum is no doubt much more interesting than most of the items displayed inside the museum.
Erected long back in 1863, this building initially served as the original French customs house in Ho Chi Minh City. All the visitors coming to this once colonial city used to pass through this building when they docked at the port of Saigon.
Ho Chi Minh, the most famous hero of Vietnam, passed through this building on the way during his 30-year visit across America and Europe.
This museum has a rich collection of Uncle Ho’s personal belongings. Some of his journals are also preserved in this museum. Items like Ho Chi Minh’s pencils, his watering can, rubber sandals, fragments of his clothing and many more vividly describe the life of Vietnam’s most famous hero.
Over the years millions of people have visited this famous museum in Ho Chi Minh City.
To reach this museum, you can avail the ferry service across the Saigon River from the dock at the end of Ham Nghi Avenue.
Contact details of Ho Chi Minh Museum are mentioned below:
Address: 01 Nguyen Tat Thanh St., District 4, HCMC
Phone Number: 083 940-1053
The museum remains open to the visitors from 9am to 6pm on all days except Friday.