Kim Lien Pagoda was originally built on Nghi Tam peninsula, on the bank of West Lake. Today it is located in Quang An village, Tay Ho district, Hanoi. The pagoda was part of the former Tu Hoa Palace of the Ly dynasty.
Princess Tu Hoa, daughter of Ly Than Tong King who reigned between 1128 and 1138, sent her royal representatives to this area to create the Tam Tang Center on Nghi Tam Street. The pagoda was later built in 1631.
Seven years later, people contributed material and labor to further enlarge the pagoda. In 1771, Lord Trinh ordered the renovation of the Bao Lam Pagoda and changed its name to Kim Lien, which has been used since then.
Kim Lien is composed of three pavilions, each of which has 2 roof layers and the appearance of being slightly curved and supple. Apart from its nice disposition, the pagoda has a gate of sophisticated and intricate architecture.