The house at 38 Hang Dao street was formerly Dong Lac communal house. The house was built in the Le dynasty period (the XVII century) in a large scale. The house was destroyed by the war, and in 1856, was restored.
In 1941, the communal house was rebuilt in a structure consists of two floors. The ground floor was used for the living, the upper floor is the shrine. The house still preserves a 150 years old stone stele (rare in Hanoi communal house) and some decorations.
The house had been renovated in the beginning of 2000 and finished in April 2000. It is used for presenting the traditional building technique associate with the modern restoration technique as well as information on the preservation of the old streets